Friday Black

Publisher: HMH Books Release date: 2018-10-23

Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER';An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice.' Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review';An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny.' George Saunders';Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book.' Roxane GayA National Book Foundation ';5 Under 35' honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead Winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award Finalist for the National Book Critics Circles John Leonard Award for Best First BookA piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In ';The Finkelstein Five,' Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In ';Zimmer Land,' we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And ';FridayBlack' and ';How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King' show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders,FridayBlackconfronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

Hide/show more

Additional Information

Collection: Mariner Books

Type: EPub

Pages 192

ISBN: 9781328915139

Additional Information

Collection: Mariner Books

Type: EPub

Pages 192

ISBN: 9781328915139

Other eBooks releases by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Loading... Please wait