Immortalists

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group Release date: 2018-01-09

Description

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR:Washington Post, NPR,Entertainment Weekly,Real Simple,Marie Claire, New York Public Library, LibraryReads, The Skimm,Lit Hub, Lit ReactorINSTANTNEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER';A captivating family saga.'TheNew York Times Book Review';This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.'People Magazine (Book of the Week)If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold childrenfour adolescents on the cusp of self-awarenesssneak out to hear their fortunes.The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Hide/show more

Additional Information

Genre: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Collection: G.P. Putnam's Sons

Type: EPub

Pages 352

ISBN: 9780735213197

Additional Information

Genre: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Collection: G.P. Putnam's Sons

Type: EPub

Pages 352

ISBN: 9780735213197

Other eBooks releases by Chloe Benjamin
Loading... Please wait